When in Rome...
do as the Romans do! Well, that is if the Romans visit all the tourist sites and eat as much pizza and pasta as they can fit in their stomachs! If that is what they do, then we are doing a good job. Today we saw the Colosium, the Roman Forum, and St. Peters Basillica. The entrance to Vatican City was right where we were but they would not let us in. Do not really know why at this point. You have heard of "the masses"... well, today we saw them. I have some cool pics of all the people in St. Peters square waiting to get into the Basillica. We waited in line for 2 hours. It was totally worth it. The Basillica is by far the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. I think it hit me especially because I was not expecting it to be so gorgeous... especially after already having seen Notre Dame. This place beats Notre Dame hands down. We walked in and my throat closed up and my eyes started watering. I am not kidding! It is that beautiful.
We could not get into the Sisteen Chapel because it closed early today and good luck getting in tormorrow. That is okay. We saw a lot today that was incredible so we were pretty happy with that. Tomorrow we are going to check out a famous Roman fountain, try to find the place where Audrey Hepburn stuck her hand in the stone mouth, and... I can not remember what else but I know there is something.
I am in some pain. My feet and especially my ankles are killing me. I am not even talking about mild pain so pray for some relief. The swimming pool and jacuzzi they have here is not open until May. I was so disappointed, especially with my feet feeling the way they do.
We are having a good time and looking forward to a good night's rest. We are checking out of here tomorrow morning and then we are taking an overnight train to Venice. So I will not be posting tomorrow at all. So....
HAPPY EASTER TO YOU ALL. I miss you and I hope you have a wonderful holiday. As for me, I will be having a wonderful "Roman Holiday."
We could not get into the Sisteen Chapel because it closed early today and good luck getting in tormorrow. That is okay. We saw a lot today that was incredible so we were pretty happy with that. Tomorrow we are going to check out a famous Roman fountain, try to find the place where Audrey Hepburn stuck her hand in the stone mouth, and... I can not remember what else but I know there is something.
I am in some pain. My feet and especially my ankles are killing me. I am not even talking about mild pain so pray for some relief. The swimming pool and jacuzzi they have here is not open until May. I was so disappointed, especially with my feet feeling the way they do.
We are having a good time and looking forward to a good night's rest. We are checking out of here tomorrow morning and then we are taking an overnight train to Venice. So I will not be posting tomorrow at all. So....
HAPPY EASTER TO YOU ALL. I miss you and I hope you have a wonderful holiday. As for me, I will be having a wonderful "Roman Holiday."


2 Comments:
Sounds like you are having the time of your life (so far). We are looking forward to some pictures here on the blog. Hope you took some.
I missed you on Sunday.
b
wghvuch
So, I am thinking June or July for family TENT camping. How will that be for you Marlana? You said it! Family? Any recomendations for a good spot. Marlana finally wants to go camping.
I am glad you both are having a great time. Can't wait to see you.
Virginia
Post a Comment
<< Home